Friday, August 9, 2013

The Puppy Delimma

It’s not a huge secret that I love dogs—I mean just take a look at my picture and read the info below it and it is not hard to figure out that I scream “hello, my name is jen and I am a crazy dog lady.” Not to be confused with a crazy cat lady, because ehhh cats give me the hebbiee jebbiess.

Dogs have always been a part of my life. I had two shih-tzu growing up when I was itty bitty and when those two passed away—God bless their puppy souls—my parents waited the appropriate amount of time before they decided to bring another bundle of fur love into our lives. I am blessed to say that bundle of love is still with us today along with another one that my parents got about six years ago.  It just so happens that the oldest one-Bandit-will be celebrating his 16th birthday next week—BIRTHDAY SHOUT OUT TO MY BANDIT!

 Bandit: a 16 year old white pup terrified of cameras which explains my lack of pictures of him

           My other pal: Hershey or Thirsty as I call him. The attention whore of the two and always down for a snuggle

 Jbear has also grown up with multiple dogs throughout his life, which know that you mention it, he is currently having an affair with his brother’s beautiful german shepard who I swear is going to end up coming over one day and never leaving. So you could say that for the last 8 months, Jbear and I have been living in somewhat of a culture shocking seeing that it is the first time in both of our lives where we don’t have a furry creature roaming the house. It’s weird.

        Ava: Jbear's Mistress

We started talking about adopting a puppy at the beginning of the summer and said that if we were really gonna do this, the best time to get a dog would be at the end of summer/beginning of fall when Jbear got off of FTO (field training to us common folk)

I have had it on my mind for a long time that if I was to ever get a dog of my own, I wanted a golden retriever. To me, they are the “all-american” type of dog and I don’t know why that appeals to me, but it does. I am ashamed to admit it, but when it comes to picking out a dog, I am extremely P to the I-C-K-Y and super superficial. I judge dogs by their looks—you can judge me for that. I’m sorry but a cute face is easier to love. Fact. 



Around the beginning of July, I found the perfect breeder for a decent price, which one wouldn't think would be too hard, but come to find out most breeder that I contacted were asking for $1000+ for a dog. Come again!? yeah I wasn't down to pay that price no matter how cute the dog. Anywhoo, the lady I found stated that her litter wouldn't be born until September and wouldn't be ready to go home till Halloween. Everything pretty much sounded perfect to us seeing that it would give us enough time to save money to buy all the ishhh that puppies need, including an expensive ass fence for our backyard. 

Well we are now one month away from the start of the whole shambang and we are caught in a pickle—do we still want the dang thing? The thing is, Jbear and I have been thinking about taking a huge leap of faith, packing everything up, quitting our jobs, and moving to Charleston.  Don’t worry, our friends think we are crazy too. But that is another post for another day. 

Now you see the dilemma we are in—do we go ahead and get the dog knowing that in a couple of months when we try and sell the house we could be taking the fur child from living in a more than spacious home to a card board box of an apartment in the city or is this something that we put off!? But this whole moving thing is just an idea, for now, that we are desperately trying to pursue and if it doesn’t work out we could be missing out on the chance to start building our family one fur baby at a time. So if you need me, I’ll be coming up with a pros and cons list over several classes of wine. Advice is clearly welcomed. Peace out cub scouts

 

No comments:

Post a Comment