Wednesday, September 25, 2013

We're Expecting!!

It’s Wednesday. I'm on my way to Atlanta for a training class. And its been about a month since my last post. I said that I was going to try to be better at this whole blogging thing, and obviously I failed miserably at that. Sighhhh. Life has been anything but normal the last couple of weeks and as much as I wanted to get into blogging on a more regular basis, it seemed like everything was working against me. Honestly, my mind was anywhere else but here.  
If you remember back in my previous post, I started telling yall about Jbear and I’s dream of packing up everything and moving to the big, bad city of Charleston. We figured that we are only young once and if we were going to do something this crazy and wild that it would be better to do it sooner rather than later. We both have jobs that are needed everywhere, both are young enough that companies want us, and we both don’t make THAT much to where we have pressure to make a certain amount. Hell if I can make it on a college budget and still be alive to tell the tale, we could make it on taking a little pay cut.
So at the end of August, we said to each other—“let’s just go for it and see what happens. We could always come back if we didn’t like it right!?” So began the job hunt, apartment pricing, massive cleaning/repairing the house, renovating the backyard, and number crunching. And here is where we hit a snag. We have only lived in the house for about a year now and our house is already worth more than what we paid for it. WAHOOOO. Even if it isnt' a substantial amount, it is still enough to make some money off of. However, we forgot about one little detail—our down payment. When we bought the house we received a very generous down payment through a first home buyer program to help us get started. It is the kind of down payment where they give you the money for free, accumulates no interest, and you don’t owe a stitch of it back if you stay in the house for at least 5 years.  Now you see where our problems lie. Since we are looking to sell the house in less than 5 years, we have to owe every single dime back, which puts a pretty big dent in what we could make on the house. Add in trying to pay a realtor to sell the house for us (Lord knows that we don’t know anything about selling a house), closing costs, and the costs it would take to even move our asses up that way and we are looking at maybeeee breaking even or worst case scenario, having to come out of pock for some of this.
After hearing this news, you can imagine how pretty beat we were. We had just spent about a month trying to get things together and in place to move and make this big step, only to be left with an even bigger decision—do we just say eff it and take an even bigger financial risk or stay put for a little while longer until we owe less on the down payment seeing that the amount decreases every year by 20%.  
We made the decision to stay put about a week ago and in that time, we officially decided to commit to the whole dog thing. We figured that more than half of the reason why we didn’t want to get a dog before was based on the fact that we thought moving was in our future and now that we clearly aren’t, we are fully on the puppy train!! It is a good thing too, because half way through the whole moving debacle, the breeder that I have been talking with sent emails to everybody announcing that the puppies had been born and what the next steps would be in the process. So on top of the moving thing, we had the decision of whether or not to send in a puppy deposit knowing that we might still be moving. Wooofff, the stress. Thank god is all behind us. 
Anyways, back to puppy business. When we first started the puppy search and made initial contact with the breeder, we made sure to put in for a boy. Since making that selection and with the puppies being born, the litter that we chose was blessed with 7 boys and 2 girls. The breeder now sends us weekly updates on all the male pups so that we get to know each of their personalities as they grow to know which one will be just right for us! To date, they are 3 weeks old and growing like weeds. They have already grown so much in the first couple of weeks that I can’t wait for them to be big enough for us to take one home.  It is scheduled that we will be able to take our little bundle of joy home the last week of October and right before Halloween. The half way mark is next weekend and the breeder is holding an open house for us to go check out everything and meet the little critter as well as ask any questions that we might have. We have even come up with a name, his name shall be Chance and he shall be the most loved nugget on the planet. 
                              momma dillion and her pups right after being born

                                                                              2 weeks
                                                                       3 weeks

And that's all I have for you today kiddos. Enjoy and dream of little puppy nuggets all day like I do. Muahhh!


Friday, September 6, 2013

Welcoming Myself Back

ohh hey there—I’m guessing by now that you have forgotten who I am and have probably put me in the category with those blogs that only stay around for a month or so and then disappears into that deep dark hole where lonely, ignored blogs go. However, life as I know it, has been taking me for a spin the last couple of weeks and to be honest, blogging just had to take a backseat.
My weekends as of late have consisted of a trip to MillyVegas, which I discussed right before I took my little vaca from blogging and let me tell you, this ole gal can try to party like a college student but man ohh man I think I was hungover for two days straight which ultimately lead to me playing hooky that following Monday. Jen for the win with that one.
After that, I worked the past two Saturdays which lead to minimal time to do things, so a lot of yard work was completed, a day trip to Athens was planned, and the start of UGA football season started with a loss. But let’s not talk about that last part.  The main reason for my absence has to do with Jbear and his job. You see over the last couple of weeks, Jbear has been finishing up training at his job which leads to his schedule changing week to week. This includes the days that he works and the days that he gets off.  I am not sure if I have mentioned this before, but I am a planner. Like a crazy nut job planner that likes to have all my ducks in a row days before we do anything. That way I can plan all my activities for the week around our weekend plans. Some people may call it crazy, some people may say it’s OCD but whatever.
With Jbear not knowing his weekly schedule until the day before he starts his weeks, it has been damn near impossible to do anything, and I like to have my weekends jam full of stuff because in my opinion, if you work hard, you should play hard. And then about a week ago, we found out what his permanent schedule is going to be and yall it suxsss ballzz. Basically it is a shift where he no longer gets any weekend days off, but instead two days during the week. He works when I’m home, and he is home when I’m working. So you see my problem here? It’s beyond frustrating. We have been living with this schedule for about two weeks, and we are already sick of it. Not to mention that Jbear cannot stand this job and wants to find a way out.
Not to mention that my boss came to see me to do my one year review (mind you a month after it was originally scheduled) where I was told that yes I was getting a raise, but wouldn’t see if for some time (probably the end of the year if I was lucky) and that I was stuck where I was until further notice. Blahhh. I really didn’t mean for this to become a whiny post, but for the last couple of weeks the stress of everything has just started to build on top of me and the only way that I could really deal with it all was to basically shut down—hence the lack of blogging.
So to those that will stick around these parts while I get my shit together—bless you. No more whiny posts and back to our regular schedule blogging. Muahh kittens